How to add or remove a OneDrive storage

Office 365
When you connect to any Microsoft 365 application such as Word or PowerPoint, Microsoft Office automatically connects to or creates a new OneDrive storage. If you don't plan to use OneDrive from Microsoft 365 applications, you can close this storage connection. On another side, you can easily connect to another OneDrive storage.

To connect to a OneDrive storage location, do the following:

   1.   Do one of the following:

  • On the File tab, click Save As, then click Add a Place, and select the personal or business OneDrive:
    • OneDrive - a personal OneDrive storage site provided free for every Microsoft account. Each OneDrive is linked to a specific account.
    • OneDrive for Business - an organizational OneDrive storage site provided for every business-level Office 365 subscription license.

    For example, in Word:

    Add a Place in Word 365
  • On the File tab, click Account, then at the bottom of the Connected Services area, click the Add a service button and select OneDrive or OneDrive for Business:
    Add a Place button in Word 365

   2.   In the Microsoft dialog box, type an existing account or click the Create one! link:

Add a Place in Office 365

After creating or inserting credentials of the existing account, a new service should be added. For example:

Use this account everywhere on your device in Office 365

You can see all connected services on the Open pane of the File tab, on the Save As pane, etc. For example, in Word:

Added new OneDrive in Word 365

To change the default save location, do the following:

   1.   On the File tab, click the Options button:

options in Office 365

   2.   In the *** Options dialog box, on the Save tab, clear the check the AutoSave OneDrive and SharePoint Online files by default on Word/Excel/PowerPoint option:

AutoSave OneDrive and SharePoint Online files by default on Word/Excel/PowerPoint 365

To delete the added OneDrive on the Account pane at the bottom of the Connected Services area, click the Remove link:

Connected Services in Office 365

Note: To remove the OneDrive used by default, you need to switch accounts and remove the service that is not used by default anymore.

We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information you’ve provided to them or they’ve collected from your use of their services.

Learn more